Update: April

It’s been a while since I’ve done an update post, but I thought it was time to start again. I’ve read some great books in the first four months of this year and I have a feeling there will be many more during the rest of the year. These first 4 months have been… strange. 2016 has so far been a strange mix of wonderful and devastating events. Good thing I have my books through all of it.

These last few weeks have been crazy as I started the most important experiments of my first PhD year. It all happened a bit early and rather unexpected, so I’ve been running around like a crazy person trying to wrap my head around everything and getting everything done. Fingers crossed it’ll give me some good results!

 

Read and Currently Reading

Read:

Saint’s Blood – Sebastien de Castell

The book we’ve all been waiting for, the third instalment in the Greatcoats series. After the smashing debut that was Traitor’s Blade and the sequel, Knight’s Shadow, surpassing all expectations, it was no surprise that almost every one of my blogger friends was eager to read this one. And it didn’t disappoint. Scroll down for a link to the full review of the book.

Eagle in Exile – Alan Smale

This is the second book in the Hesperian trilogy. It’s a sequel that went right at every single point the first book went a bit wrong. I very much enjoyed this one and I’m looking forward to the third one to see how Alan Smale will continue on the path he has chosen for his characters. Same as with Saint’s Blood, scroll down for a link to the full review.

Half a King – Joe Abercrombie

I know I’m a bit late to the party. I’ve been wanting to read Half a King for ages now and I finally made some time to do it. Boy, oh, boy, I just couldn’t put it down. I will add my voice to the many already singing praise for this one. Keep an eye out for a full review soon!

Currently Reading:

Black City Saint – Richard A. Knaak

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from Black City Saint. The blurb left me a bit confused and it didn’t really pull me in immediately. I mostly wondered if another book about the Fey/Fairie/etc could bring a new angle. I’ve been reading a lot of books in that particular corner of Fantasy lately, so I was a bit reluctant to start. I’m happy I did though, because so far it has been able to surprise me with a completely new angle. I’m curious to see where this will lead.

The Tiger and The Wolf – Adrian Tsjaikovsky

When the news came out about this book, I was already super excited to read it. Then when they released the cover, I got even more excited. I’ve said it multiple times before, but seriously, it’s gorgeous. I’m now almost 65% in and I’m absolutely loving it. I got this as an e-galley from the publisher, but I’ll definitely be saving all my money to buy one of those beautiful physical copies.

Planetfall – Emma Newman

I really enjoyed Emma Newman’s The Split Worlds series and I’m looking forward to the fourth book ‘A Little Knowledge’, coming this August. In anticipation of that one, I purchased Newman’s Science Fiction novel Planetfall. I’ve only just started it, but it’s incredibly fascinating.

 

Audiobook:

 

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

I’ve been struggling with audiobooks a bit and particularly with this one. So far it’s on OK story and the different narrators are really doing a wonderful job, but I’m not sure I’m really grasping the whole thing as much as I would when actually reading it. I get lost sometimes, realising I’ve missed part of the story that would clarify what is going on at that moment. I’m giving it a bit of a rest now and I’ll hopefully return to it soon.

The Widow – Fiona Barton

I bought The Widow because I normally take less time reading thrillers than I do Fantasy or SciFi books. I wanted to see if that would be the same with audiobooks. So far it’s holding up, because I’ve been having a lot less trouble with following The Widow than Six of Crows. I really like the narrator of this one too, she’s doing an amazing job with the different voices.

 

Purchased/Received

  • NOS4A2 by Joe Hill
  • Masks and Shadows by Stephanie Burgis (Pyr Books)
  • Saint’s Blood by Sebastien de Castell (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • The Last Gasp by Trevor Hoyle (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • It Happened One Doomsday by Laurence MacNaughton (Pyr Books)
  • Spear of Light by Brenda Cooper (Pyr Books)
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (special edition)
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  • Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith
  • The Wolf in the Attic by Paul Kearney (Solaris)

A big thank you to the publishers for the wonderful books!

Posts in April

Posted on May 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

