Spotlight: The Emperor’s Railroad – Guy Haley

About the Book

 

.

.

Global war devastated the environment, a zombie-like plague wiped out much of humanity, and civilization as we once understood it came to a standstill. But that was a thousand years ago, and the world is now a very different place.

Conflict between city states is constant, superstition is rife, and machine relics, mutant creatures and resurrected prehistoric beasts trouble the land. Watching over all are the silent Dreaming Cities. Homes of the angels, bastion outposts of heaven on Earth. Or so the church claims. Very few go in, and nobody ever comes out.

Until now…

 

Publication date: April 19th, 2016 (Tor)

 

About the Author

(From the author’s website)

I am, for want of a better Linean-type categorisation for my own peculiar sub-career, a science fiction journalist, and now a writer of the same. The principal difference being once I interviewed people about making stuff up, now I make my own stuff up. The latter is more fun.

I was born in 1973, the eldest of five boys, all of whom are arty media sorts, if short-tempered and, well, short (all except number 4, who is genuinely large enough to ride a horse). We were raised on the moors of Yorkshire, where we all survived to adulthood despite freezing temperatures, angry boggarts and proximity to the volatile Lancastrian border.

I began my career on SFX Magazine in 1997, where I eventually became deputy editor, before leaving to edit notable gaming magazine White Dwarf at Games Workshop. Three years later I ran away to be  involved in the launch of the ill-fated, if bold, SF magazine Death Ray, which I also edited. Since its demise in 2009 I have been wandering the media hinterlands as a pen for hire.

I live in Somerset with my wife Emma, young son Benny (yes really, and no, nobody under 107 years of age remembers Crossroads now), and a Malamute called Magnus.

Posted on April 15, 2016, in Spotlight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have this book and can’t wait to try it. The premise sounds interesting. I just hope the author can combine all these elements into a great story.

    • I spotted it when I browsed through the publisher catalogues earlier this year and I thought it sounded intriguing! But like you said, it’ll have to be well executed. I can’t wait to find out if it lives up to its potential.

  1. Pingback: Update: April | Draumr Kópa

Leave a Reply

