Spotlight: Eagle in Exile – Alan Smale

About The Book

.

.

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale’s gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people—whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny.

 
In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native.

After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won’t stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph.

Publication date: March 22nd, 2016 (Del Rey)

About The Author

.

.

Alan Smale writes science fiction and fantasy, currently focusing on alternate history and historical fantasy. His novella of a Roman invasion of ancient America, “A Clash of Eagles”, won the 2010 Sidewise Award for Alternate History, and the first book in a trilogy set in the same universe, CLASH OF EAGLES, was published by Del Rey (in the US) and Titan Books (in the UK and Europe) in March 2015. Sequel EAGLE IN EXILE will be on sale on March 22, 2016, and the series will conclude with EAGLE AND EMPIRE in March 2017.

Alan’s short fiction has appeared in Asimov’s, Realms of Fantasy, Abyss & Apex, Paradox, Writers of the Future 13, Podcastle and Pseudopod and numerous other magazines and original anthologies, and his non-fiction science pieces about terraforming and killer asteroids have appeared in Lightspeed. His Asimov’s novella set (mostly) in near-future Asia, “The Mongolian Book of the Dead”, and his historical fantasy starring Ben Franklin, “A Trade in Serpents” from RoF, were both featured on Locus Magazine’s Recommended Reading List. Reading copies of both stories are available on this site, as well as several other stories that have made best-of-year lists.

Born and raised in England, Alan lives in Maryland and works as an astrophysicist and data archive manager at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center. In what is humorously referred to as his ‘spare time’, Alan also sings bass and serves as Business Manager for high-energy vocal band The Chromatics, who have performed at various science fiction conventions (Balticon, Shore Leave, Farpoint) and were Music Guests of Honor at Philcon.

 

Advertisements

Posted on March 16, 2016, in Spotlight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: