Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR

.

.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and The Bookish. Every Tuesday bloggers list 10 bookish things according to a certain theme. This week we’re talking about books that have been recently added to the to-be-read pile.

1.Skyborn & Fireborn by David Dalglish

I have Mogsy from Bibliosanctum to thank for these. As many of you know I am a sucker for beautiful covers and when I saw the cover for Fireborn on Mogsy’s latest Waiting on Wednesday post, I was immediately sold. These books just sound amazing and look so absolutely beautiful that I can’t wait to devour them and add them to my shelves.

2. Those Above & Those Below by Daniel Polansky 

I’ve heard good things about Daniel Polansky, though I haven’t read any of this books yet. I have his Low Town books on my Kindle and I’m planning on reading them soon. But while I was looking through 2016 catalogs I found Those Below, which will be published on the 25th of February by Hodder, and I was again totally in love with the cover. After reading what they were about, I added both books to my TBR.

3. Age of Iron by Angus Watson 

I stumbled across the Iron Age series a while ago while passing time looking around Goodreads. I added the first book to my TBR because it looked interesting and it had some very positive reviews from reviewers I trust. And yet again, I found the cover to be beautiful.

4. Swords and Scoundrels by Julia Knight

The Duellist Trilogy books were all published in quick succession of each other at the end of last year and (I’m starting to repeat myself) the covers really caught my eye. That and I like a good sword fight. I’m curious to see how I’ll like it, because judging from the reviews and ratings, lots of people only thought this to be mediocre.

5. The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley

Obviously I heard about this book when it first came out. I was excited then to read it, but somehow it dropped off my radar and only recently popped up again. The Mirror Empire is another book with a stunning cover and it is written by an author whose essays I’ve enjoyed reading.

6. The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell

First published in 2004, but only just caught my attention. I think I saw this one pass by on my Goodreads homepage and decided to have a look. It has glowing reviews and a smashing 4,22 rating (counting almost 32.000 ratings). I love historical fiction but don’t spend enough time reading it, so I decided I would start the Last Kingdom series in the near future.

7. In Dark Service by Stephen Hunt

Published in May of this year by Gollancz, I came across the third book in this series while I was composing my ‘New Books in 2016’ posts. I fell in love with the cover (I know, I know) and went in search for this first book. Seriously though, all the books in this series look absolutely beautiful. I noticed none of my friends had read or reviewed it so far, so it is kind of a mystery to me. Which is why I decided to give it a try.

8. The Dragon Engine by Andy Remic

Another find from my ‘New Books in 2016’ posts, this time from Angry Robot. I haven’t read many books with dragons lately and this didn’t seem like your typical dragon book. I wanted to know more right away. To be honest, this sounds like so much fun.

9. False Hearts by Laura Lam

I love Laura Lam’s work, which is incentive enough for me to read her new book. Will be published in June by Tor. Oh, and I adore this cover. So, so beautiful.

10. The Tiger and The Wolf by Adrian Tchaikovsky

This is becoming a theme here, but IT’S SO PRETTY! I should have renamed this Top Ten Tuesday to “Top Ten Books you think are insanely pretty and have recently been added to your TBR”. I just received this book from the publisher and I honestly can’t wait to read it. Published February 11th by Pan Macmillan.

 

 

Posted on January 19, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m glad to have played into your TBR choices! I seriously enjoyed Skyborn a lot, I’m really burning for the sequel right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

