Update: Quidditch, Halloween reads and The Maze Runner

Lovely readers!

It’s been too long. My life is getting busier and busier and I’ve been thinking about making my blog more personal for a while now. That’s why I’ve decided to do these update posts to let you know what’s been going on in my life, what I’m reading, which reviews/interviews/guest posts are coming up and all sorts of other stuff like that. I actually have loads to tell you all!

Quidditch

10659196_791606634215820_6403797526615090014_nYes, the sport from the Harry Potter books and movies. And also, no, not entirely like that. But it’s real. It’s a legit sport and I’m a legit quidditch player. There are lots of awesome youtube videos online if you’re not really sure what I’m talking about or if you want to see what it’s all about. I’m PR and Social Media responsible for my team in Ghent, the Ghent Gargoyles, and I’m Communication Director for the Belgian Quidditch Federation. This means I’ve had a massive amount of work for the Belgian quidditch community. Some highlights: I organised, together with my team, a booth and demonstrations at the biggest SFF convention in Belgium. It was an awesome weekend, very tiring, but absolutely amazing. To top it off, a television crew spotted and approached us with an idea for a new program. It did mean that I had extra work because I had to organise a match where a known Belgian ‘celebrity’ would participate. In january my face will be on national television. I don’t really know how I feel about that yet. I might lock myself up with a book the night that program airs.

10325529_10204721537629062_4132887284751912075_n

Look at me gooo!

 

10473737_975278562488459_169365116864262781_n

Belgian television guy!

 

Movies 

mzr_imax_poster_smMe and my movie/banter pal went to see The Maze Runner last week! I haven’t read the books yet, but I enjoyed the movie. It has a Hunger Games feel to it, but it’s different enough to be entertaining and fun to watch. I also LOVE Dylan O’Brien as an actor, so that made for a favourable opinion as well. I now really want to read the books. My friend started reading them – correction, devouring them – and she’s made me curious. I think this will be my next investment!

 

This week the teaser trailer for the new Avengers movie, Avengers: Age of Ultron, was released as well and it’s. So. Good. If you haven’t seen it yet, watch it now! If you have seen it, I’m sure you can’t resist to watch it again 😉

 

Books

Irenicon by Aidan HarteThe Unquiet House by Alison LittlewoodI’m currently reading two books: ‘Irenicon’ by Aidan Harte, which is the first book in the featured series I chose. I like the ideas and the worldbuilding in this book. It took me a while to get in to the story, but overall I’m now really enjoying it.
I’m also reading the first one of my Halloween reads: ‘The Unquiet House’ by Alison Littlewood. It’s creepy. I’m alone here in my studio and I mostly read at night, in the dark…

 

What’s coming up?

Next on the TBR list is the second book in the featured series: ‘The Warring States’ by Aidan Harte. There’s also the second book I chose as my Halloween reads this year: ‘Salem’s Lot’ by Stephen King. Other books that are near the top of the list are ‘Native Silver’ by Blake Hausladen and ‘Murder’ by Sarah Pinborough.

Reviews coming up: ‘Blood Will Follow’ by Snorri Kristjansson, ‘Traitor’s Heir’ by Anna Thayer and ‘The Leopard’ by K.V. Johansen.

Other upcoming posts: keep your eyes peeled for an interview and a giveaway!

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had to youtube quidditch. Not the concept, I read the books, but the fact that people were playing it. And it looks like a blast.

Leave a Reply

