End of 2013

I hope everyone rolled out of bed feeling somewhat human this morning and I also hope if you now have a massive hangover it was totally worth it. Either way, I wish you all a very happy New Year! I hope it will be even better for you than 2013.

2013 has overall been a crappy year for me. The year started with examstress (like every year in Uni) that triggered some health issues that had been lurking in the background but had never become prominent.  I had a really hard time with it because I failed all my exams that month because I couldn’t sleep and couldn’t study properly due to the constant pain. The few months after that were hell. In and out of the hospital, not one doctor being able to tell me what was wrong with me. I had many sleepless nights and stayed inside mostly. Luckily I’m not one that gives up that easily. I pulled myself back up agai and I did all my exams again in summer and this time I passed!

All through this, books have been a great source of comfort to me. Many books have kept me company through the sleepless nights. Yet again I noticed how much I get out of books and how much I rely on them to be there for me. And they always are. So let’s have a look at what were the highlights in my 2013 bookyear!

Favourites published in 2013

Black Feathers – Joseph D’Lacey

Review

“Joseph D’Lacey writes beautifully, it’s a joy to read, so easy and flowing, but with a certain intelligence. Writing on a higher level.
All in all, I really enjoyed Black Feathers, it was absolutely intriguing and fascinating.”

“Black Feathers” literally blew me away. It was such a strong book, with such a powerful story that stayed with me long after I finished the book. A book that is definitely worth a read!

 

 

Mayhem – Sarah Pinborough

Review 

“Pinborough has a writing style that sucks your right into the story and doesn’t let go ‘till you finish the last page. She can make you feel things, make the book come alive somehow. I was totally feeling the mood she wanted to create here, some sort of uneasy darkness that makes you look over your shoulder more than once when walking on the street all alone.”

“Mayhem” was an overall fantastic book. I read it in one sitting on the bleak early spring days this year. I can still remember how I felt reading it, shivering slightly and checking the shadows before I went to bed. It also made me want to know more about the Thames Torso killer, somehow I’d never heard about this serial killer from the Jack Ripper time. If you haven’t read this one yet, you should pick it up asap, because it is fantastic!

The Glass Republic – Tom Pollock

The Glass RepublicReview 

“I flipped the last page and went “What? The end?… What? I want to know what’ll happen next!!” So yeah, that alone shows how much I enjoyed “The Glass Republic”. I can’t wait to read “Our Lady of the Streets”. This is Young Adult Urban Fantasy at its best.”

It’s pretty rare to find a sequel that’s even better then the first book in a series. Most series I’ve read have a stellar first installement and then the books are on par or just that bit below that first one. Not so with Tom Pollock’s ‘Skyscraper Throne’! “The Glass Republic” was SO good! I enjoyed it from the first page to the last and can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

Swords of Good Men – Snorri Kristjansson

Swords of Good MenReview

“Snorri Kristjansson is definitely a powerful new voice in the Fantasy scene, with a strong debut that will please fans of Vikings, mythology, strategy and action.”

Another book I read in mere hours! Snorri Kristjansson’s debut was real hit, with a lot of action and axes and Vikings and a hint of magic. I loved it! I can’t wait to see what the sequel will bring.

 

 

Malice – John Gwynne

Review

““Malice” is a classic High Fantasy tale of Good versus Evil in an all-consuming war set in a medieval-esque world. It tells the story of Elyon and Asroth, two gods, good and evil respectively, and how they use the creatures on earth to fight their war. We follow a colorful handful of characters throughout the book, every chapter another POV. Every element you would expect in such a classic tale can be found within the pages of Malice: heroes, destiny, betrayal, gods, a prophecy, war, battle, terrifying creatures and so on.”

Another debut that hit the right spot for me. Malice is a classic Epic/High Fantasy tale that, though not really bringing anything that new to the playing field, is still a strong and highly enjoyable book. I personally don’t always want something to be unique or new and I can enjoy a classic tale if it is done right. This book had everything I was looking for in a good High Fantasy book! Keep an eye out for John Gwynne, he’s one of the strong new voices that was introduced in the Fantasy scene this year.

The Tower Broken – Mazarkis Williams

the tower brokenReview

“I’m looking forward to what Mazarkis Williams will come up with next, because I’ve now seen her full potential in this book and she’s definitely part of my list of Fantasy authors to look out for.”

An absolutely amazing end to the Tower and Knife trilogy! I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this book, I just couldn’t stop reading. Mazarkis Williams has showed me yet again that she has so much talent and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

The Good, the Bad and the Infernal – Guy Adams

Review

“Certainly a strong new player in the weird Western/Steampunk/SF genre”

The first of the weird westerns I’ve read this year. I find that I really enjoy this genre and I really like this one in particular. It does have a rather open ending, but the second book is eagerly waiting on my iPad and I hope to learn more about this mysterious town there.

 

 

The Six-Gun Tarot – R.S. Belcher

Review

“With this sublime mix of Fantasy, Steampunk, Horror and Western adventure in “The Six-Gun Tarot”, R.S. Belcher is sure to be one of the most promising debut authors of 2013 in the scene.”

This was the second weird western I read this year. Another hit for me, because I enjoyed reading it very much. It was also a debut and I’m certainly keeping an eye out for the sequel “The Shotgun Arcana” which was on my “2014 Wishlist”

 

Delia’s Shadow – Jaime Lee Moyer

Review 

“I enjoyed every page of this book and I would recommend it to … well, everyone. I think this is a book that could fit any kind of reader, with bits of all kinds of genres to please everyone. Pick it up and get transported back to the dark side of turn-of-the-century San Francisco, you won’t regret it.”

Delia’s Shadow is a book I read in summer and I still remember the story as if I’ve read it yesterday, it left such a strong impression. Another really strong debut that deserves a place in the spotlight.

 

Pantomime – Laura Lam

PantomimeI read Pantomime just this month and haven’t written its review yet, but it was one of the best YA books I’ve read this year. Unique, new, fresh and with an explosive ending, it was a fascinating and fantastic read!

Favourites not published in 2013

Soulless – Gail Carriger

Review

“I loved it! I had lots of entertaining hours with this book and I chuckled my way through it (which has almost never happened to me with a book before). “Soulless” is brilliantly written.”

A book I loved for its sassy heroine and the great humor that made me chuckle more than once. A lovely book that everyone should read!

 

 

 

The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

Review

“This story doesn’t just suck you in from the very first page, it envelops you, it takes you in its embrace and refuses to let go. It will stay with you long after you’ve finished the last pages.”

One of the classics that I wanted to read this year and I’m so glad I did. It’s a beautifully crafted tale that kept me mesmerized many nights and has deserved a place high on my bookshelves.

 

The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

Review

“So, did I like this book? I LOVED it. Scott Lynch managed to write a classic here, a book that will and has stolen its way into many hearts and minds and will probably stay there. Top shelf for me, absolutely!”

Another classic that was on my TBR list for 2013 and another one I absolutely adored. It has a great story and great characters in a rich, imaginative world.

 

 

 

The Eye of the World – Robert Jordan

Review

“The writing style is very captivating and doesn’t let you put down the book easily. This is a book to get lost in on a long, relaxing day outside under a tree in summer or inside on the couch before a crackling hearth. The descriptions are so rich and extensive without being the least bit tedious.”

Yet another classic Fantasy book that was on my list for 2013 and yet again one I really, really enjoyed. This series has been out there a long time and I’m glad I finally got a chance to start reading it. This first book was great and I can only wish the rest of the series is just as good.

 

The Shadow Saga Trilogy – Jon Sprunk

Review book 2

Review book 3

“What more can I say? I loved it! Every single book, every single page. Highly recommended.”

I read ‘Shadow’s Lure’ and ‘Shadow’s Master’, the second and third book of the trilogy, this year and enjoyed both immensely. I can’t stress enough how good this series is and how much I recommend it.

Posted on January 1, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That is a strong list. I didn’t realize anyone else had read Six Gun Tarot, but I have now seen it on several lists. And I really don’t know how I missed Swords of Good Men, it looks like something right up my alley.

  2. Lots of Jo Fletcher books on there 🙂

Leave a Reply

