Tainted – Broken #2 – A.E. Rought

TaintedRelease date: October 1st 2013
Publisher: Strange Chemistry
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: e-book
Source: Netgalley

Alex Franks believes the madness is behind them. With Ascension Labs under his direction and the forces threatening Emma’s life overcome, they have a chance at a normal life, and keeping his secrets safely buried. But a shadow rises from Alex’s past, and she wants him back. Criminally brilliant, Hailey Westmore will stop at nothing to claim the boy she was meant to be with.

Without warning, Emma Gentry finds she cannot trust anything. Not her mind, her memory, not even herself. Tragic events and unexpected deaths stalk Alex and Emma, testing them in ways they would never imagine, and may not survive. Alex carries a new secret, and a horrifying guilt that Hailey uses to her advantage.

Emma’s life and sanity hang in the balance, and Alex may have created a monster…

Review

‘Tainted’ is a solid sequel to ‘Broken’, but I did have more issues with it than I had with the first book. For starters, this book reads so differently from ‘Broken’. The story goes along at breakneck speed, something huge happening every other page. Mind you, I really enjoyed that for the first part of the book, but after that, it was just a bit too much for me.

This book is told from Alex’ point of view, which is quite different from Emma’s in ‘Broken’. I didn’t connect with him, not as much as I did with Emma. He was a bit over the top for me, especially in his love for Emma. Where there was mostly swoony love in the first book, here it seemed suffocating. I get it, he loves Emma and he will do anything to protect her, but at times I just wanted to smack him. Also, I’m not a fan of being all over each other when some of your best friends are standing right next to you. It’s awkward for them and I would feel ashamed and awkward too. Alex and Emma did this all the time in front of their best friends Bree and Jason. It bugged me, but that’s just because I wouldn’t like it if it was me in the story.

The only other issue I had was with the plot. The biggest surprise and actually the best part of the book was in the first halve. Jesus, there’s one scene there that I really hadn’t seen coming, one where I actually muttered “oh my god” without even realizing it. And from there on a lot of mysterious things happen and for the first time this was exhilarating. But then it happened again, and again, … I’m a bit conflicted about this, because I did enjoy the mystery and although some parts were quite gruesome, it fit right in this book. But I didn’t understand it. It was quite obvious to me who was behind it all and I just couldn’t understand the extremes this person went through for her goal. I had expected some grand explanation as to why it all happened, but it was just the same reasons that were mentioned before. Not what I would have wanted to see for this storyline.

I want to point out that I did enjoy some of this book and it’s definitely a rollercoaster of action-packed scenes with some major twists thrown in there. It was a good sequel to ‘Broken’, but just not for me. There were too many things that bugged me personally to make it a very good read for me. This isn’t the first time I’ve had this with Young Adult books, it seems I’m pretty picky when it comes to that age category. I’m pretty sure others will enjoy this though, it’s good Young Adult, definitely better than some I’ve read and that are more popular (which I still can’t understand, by the way). If you’re really into Young Adult, you should read this series. The writing is solid and fluent to read, which makes this a fast read in general. There’s enough going on to keep you flipping the pages and if you like a deep romance, than this one is definitely for you. It just wasn’t for me.

Posted on October 1, 2013, in A.E. Rought and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

