Summer Vacation Roundup

2 days, that’s all I’ve got left of my Summer vacation right now. Actually, since it’s already 2 pm here, I’d say I’ve only 1,5 days left of Summer vacation. At the end of Summer I’m always a bit conflicted. Summer is my favorite season, I love the weather, the things I can do (swimming, traveling, doing some yardwork, relaxing with a book outside, drink cocktails…). So I’m pretty sad that time of year is alread over, it went by way to fast. On the other hand, I like being busy, so I’m not that sad that school wil be starting again on Monday. The beginning of the new academic year at Uni here, is always a blast too! Lots of parties, festivities, bands performing. I love those first few weeks.

That being said, I thought it was time for a “Summer Vacation Roundup”, book-wise. Which books have I bought, received, reviewed, read… and which are on my radar, are on top of my mount TBR and which am I currently reading. A nice overview of the last 3 months (with the hiatus for my exams in the middle somewhere). Let’s get started!

Books I received from Publishers:

NetGalley:

HeartwoodSeven ForgesskulkThe Companions

enchanter heir

republic of thievesDelia's Shadow

The Godborn

Tainted

King BreakerDream London

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From Angry Robot:

Heartwood – Freya Robertson | Release date: October 29th, 2013 (Currently reading)

Seven Forges – James A. Moore | Release date: September 24th, 2013

From Strange Chemistry:

Skulk – Rosie Best | Release date: October 1st, 2013

Tainted – A.E. Rought | Release date: October 1st, 2013 (Review coming soon!)

From Wizards of the Coast:

The Companions – R.A. Salvatore | Release date: August 6th, 2013

The Godborn – Paul S. Kemp | Release date: October 1st, 2013

From Del Rey Spectra:

The Republic of Thieves – Scott Lynch | Release date: October 8th, 2013

From Tor:

Delia’s Shadow – Jaime Lee Moyer | Release date: September 17th, 2013 (Review)

From Disney Hyperion:

The Enchanter Heir – Cinda Williams Chima | Release Date: October 1st, 2013 (Review coming soon!)

From Solaris:

King Breaker – Rowena Cory Daniells | Release Date: September 24th, 2013

Dream London – Tony Ballantyne | Release Date: October 29th, 2013

 

In the mail:

The Detainee

The Glass Republic

The Scroll of Years

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From Jo Fletcher Books:

The Detainee – Peter Liney | Release date: July 4th, 2013 (Review)

The Glass Republic – Tom Pollock | Release date: August 1st, 2013 (Review coming soon!)

From Pyr:

The Scroll of Years – Chris Willrich | Release date: September 24th, 2013

 

Books I bought:

BrokenPantomimeEmperor's soulThe City's Son

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Broken – A.E. Rought (Review)

Pantomime – Laura Lam

The Emperor’s Soul – Brandon Sanderson

The City’s Son – Tom Pollock (Review)

 

 

 

 

Reviews and posts on the blog:

Sword of Good Men – Snorri Kristjansson | Review & Guest Post

Review: Phoenix Rising – Ryk E. Spoor

Review: Shadow’s Lure & Shadow’s Master – Jon Sprunk

Review: Playing Tyler – T.L. Costa

Review: Exiles of Arcadia: Legionnaire – James Gawley

Debate: Author/Publisher/Creator? You are welcome here!

 

Books on top of Mount To-Be-Read:

Songs of the Earth

Magician

red seas red skies

dreadnought

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Songs of the Earth – Elspeth Cooper

Magician – Raymond E. Feist (re-read)

Red Seas Under Red Skies – Scott Lynch

Dreadnought – Cherie Priest

 

 

 

 

Currently Reading:

Heartwood – Freya Robertson

The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

Water Harvest – Eric Diehl (review request)

And I’m beta-reading for a friend of mine!

Well, there you have it. Looks like there are some fun and awesome books waiting to be read on my (digital) shelf. I’d like to thank the publisher who have sent me review copies of their books, especially those who have sent me paper books, because I enjoy a paper book so much more than a digital copy.

Now everything is up to date, we can start a new academic year with a lot of new reviews, interviews, spotlights and cover artists!

Posted on September 21, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

